The University of Santiago de Compostela held on Monday April 28th the Investiture Act as Doctor Honoris Causa of Professor Amable Liñan Martínez

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Next Monday, April 28, at 12:30, the Investiture Ceremony as Doctor Honoris Causa for Professor Amable Liñán Martínez will be held at the Noble Hall of Fonseca. This designation stems from a proposal by the Department of Applied Mathematics (USC).

Professor Amable Liñán, participated as an academic specialist in ESGI 97 (European Study Group with Industry), held for the first time in Galicia in November 2013, and organised in collaboration between the Technological Institute for Industrial Mathematics (ITMATI ) and Spanish Mathematics Network (math-in).

He has dedicated his career to research and education in Engineering; from 1960 to 1976 in the National Institute for Aerospace Technology (INTA) and from 1961 to nowadays at the Higher Technical School of Aeronautical Engineering, where he has been Professor of Fluid Mechanics since 1965, and is currently Emeritus Professor. He has been Director of the Department of Motorpropulsion and Thermal-fluid-dynamics. Since 1997 he is also Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Yale.

His research has been dedicated to Fluid Mechanics and analysis of combustion processes in power generation systems and propulsion. This work has been partially supported by the Research Contracts AFOSR (Office of Scientific Research, USAF), with the US Forest Service, with the European Space Agency, the Institute for Nuclear Studies and the European Community. He has been a consultant ARNOLD Research and Development Center of the USAF and the Los Alamos National Laboratory. Author of over 140 publications in international journals and co-author with Forman A. Williams of the book Fundamentals of Combustion Science published by the Oxford University Press in 1993.

He is a member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences and Engineering and associate member of the Academy of Sciences. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the British Institute of Physics. He was awarded the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, the Zeldovich Gold Medal by the International Institute of Combustion and the Research Award "Miguel Catalán" by the Community of Madrid in 2007. He is Doctor Honoris causa by the Carlos III University of Madrid, the University of Zaragoza and the Technicak University of Catalonia and Valencia.


Thu, 2014-04-24